Laughter & tears

Laughter and Tears contains four tracks:

  1. Cantate Domino by Paweł Łukaszewski
  2. Les fleurs et les arbres by Camille Saint-Saëns
  3. Förvårskväll by David Wikander
  4. I Seraillets Have by Wilhelm Stenhammar

"Laughter and tears" are the concluding words of Camille Saint-Saëns' Les Fleurs et les Arbres. The piece is the second track of a total of four that together make up the latest EP by En Kör. The music is a selection from the choir's current repertoire and was recorded shortly after their return from the Il Polifonico competition in Arezzo.

The ensemble's guiding principle since its inception has been to interpret and perform classical choral music in their own way. Just like on previous recordings and concerts, En Kör also blends different styles, eras, and languages on Laughter and Tears. For the first time on this EP, the choir has also recorded their performances of well-known Swedish choral works such as "Förvårskväll" (David Wikander) and "I Seraillets Have" (Wilhelm Stenhammar).

Laughter and Tears represents a maturity in an ensemble that is constantly evolving, both in terms of sound and repertoire. The title describes a state that is delightful but not carefree. The seriousness has been allowed to take up more space and be expressed in this production than before, without leaving behind other characteristics of the ensemble - such as playful creativity and singing joy. Everything serves as evidence of the duality of laughter and tears, that is, two equally necessary descriptions of the same music. 

The artwork that forms the basis for the cover is painted by the artist Maria van Oosterwyck, who lived in the Netherlands during the 17th century. The painting's motif is a so-called vanitas, intended to remind the viewer of the transience of worldly things; the bouquet is beautiful but overblown, and insects crawl among the plants, most prominently the short-lived mayfly. The artwork was chosen as the cover because it also represents several dualities - a recurring theme of the EP - such as life and death, enduring and ephemeral beauty, and the bright flowers against the dark background.

The EP was released on 14 April, 2023.